top of page

Introduction: Interning at Delta Marine


Source: deltamarine.com

The purpose of this blog is to document my internship at Delta Marine located in Seattle, Washington. Delta Marine is a family owned shipyard which builds and refits custom superyachts. The company was founded by brothers Jack and Ivor Jones in 1967. Its initial mission was to build fishing boats that would sail in the Pacific Northwest.

Today, Delta designs and builds some of the most luxurious vessels in the world by maintaining an unparalleled commitment to fulfilling their customer's desires. I am fortunate enough to be a part of its dedicated design group for two months before heading back to Webb Institute to finish my senior year.


Some notable Delta Marine yachts include, Invictus (pictured below), a 66m superyacht with an ice-strengthened steel hull and composite superstructure launched in 2013. Latin for "unconquerable", Invictus is powered by twin Caterpillar 3516 engines. At a speed of 12 knots, the yacht has a 6,000 nautical-mile range and can reach speeds up to 17 knots.

My internship journey began as it always does--with a cross-country road trip. It only felt natural to "come around full circle" and replicate the road trip that characterized my freshman year internship (which you can read about here).


My travels started in Michigan on Saturday, January 1 and ended in Washington state on Monday, January 3. Along the way, I was lucky enough to miss most of the snowstorms that plagued the Pacific Northwest. Still, I could not avoid all delays. During my last day of travel, I90 was closed along Snoqualmie Pass, which led me to take US2 instead. This change combined with worsening road conditions added an extra three hours to my trip. But it was all worth it--because I passed to Leavenworth, a small Bavarian-styled village hidden in the Cascade Mountains.


In order to understand how happy passing through Leavenworth made me--you should know that I am the unbearable type of person who regularly listens to Christmas music to brighten their mood--sometimes even in the dead of summer. As soon as the clock strikes midnight on Halloween, my Christmas lights have already gone up. So to stop in a town that takes Christmas as seriously as I do was incredible.

That being said, by 2200 when I arrived in Seattle I was ready to pass out. A few friends and former alumni were kind enough to allow me to overtake their living room for the duration of my stay. (Thank you Steph, Dustin, Abi '19, and Duane '20!!)


I am excited to share my internship details and Seattle adventures with you all! I will be posting weekly on Mondays until February 28th.


Till next time, stay warm!

bottom of page