top of page

Raze de Soare

I'd like to stray from the subject of work for a second and write about some of the things I've been doing to make the most of my time in Seattle. I've lived in Seattle a couple times now--last summer included. So I've successfully completed many of the touristy attractions prior to this internship.


Walk through the Seattle Aquarium? Done.

Free yoga with real Seattleites at Pier 62? Done.

Hike via the Skyline Trail in Mount Rainier National Park? Done.

Scour Pike's Place for some tasty hom bow from Mee Sum Pastry? Done.

Visit the Chihuly Glass Museum for the second time? Done.

Dip a toe in Colchuck Lake--and promptly freeze to death? Done.

Lose an earring in Snow Lake Trail? Done.

I think you get the point. I did a LOT last summer, but believe it or not there was still more left to do on my bucket list.


What could have possibly been left, you may ask?


Well, seeing the Seattle skyline for one.


So on a sunny, clear day (those are rare in the Seattle winter), I made my way to the Sky View Observatory at Columbia Center and caught a glimpse of the sun setting on Mount Rainier and the Seattle Space Needle.

I typically avoid observatories like this one because they are expensive and crowded. But the Sky View Observatory is not super crowded (since most people opt for the Needle--even though that drastically reduces your chances of seeing the iconic skyline--whose primadonna is the Needle itself). It also cost $25, which although not cheap, is a decent price for a popular Seattle attraction. Most importantly, after having trekked all across the city by foot, exploring its nooks and crannies, it was very refreshing to pinpoint all of the places I've been from up above the clouds.


That being said, if you are not ready to dish out the equivalent of five pork hom bows from Mee Sum Pastry, you can enjoy the Seattle Skyline for free at Luna Park from Alki Beach.



Many Seattleites frequent Alki Beach for an afternoon stroll or morning run. So this view is certainly more "authentic" if you will. While there I also got to bear witness to some courageous paddle boarders who braved the cold Seattle winter (and what I can only imagine to be even colder Puget Sound water).

Till next time, stay well!








bottom of page